Entries are now closed - thank you to all who entered

Covid-19 update 

The judges’ choice of a winner is based on visiting the shortlisted houses. We are keeping a watchful eye on how the situation evolves, but please be assured that we would review our schedule and postpone the visits if critics are unable to travel to the shortlisted houses. The safety and wellbeing of both writers and residents is very important to us. As a result, we might have to postpone the publication of the AR House awards to later on in the year. We remain committed to our editorial integrity in these challenging times. If you have any questions, please contact Ben Dickerson. 

Stay safe and take care.

Celebrating its tenth anniversary, the AR House awards recognises originality and excellence in the design of dwellings. The house – a key rite of passage for architects – offers the potential for innovation and is critical to the ferment and crystallisation of new ideas. Looking for projects built in the last five years, AR House recognises creativity and originality, and ideas that push the type forward whatever the scale and construction cost. The judges’ chosen schemes will all be visited by an independent critic and photographer before a decision is made on the winner.

The AR House awards are diverse and wide-ranging. Last year, the AR House winner was General Design Co’s house in Kamitomii in Japan, countering the trend in Japan to demolish old houses and build afresh with what the judges described as its ‘responsible attitude and able approach towards history, memory, conservation, community and sustainability’, while Collectif Encore’s Hamra studio residence in Gotland, Sweden was Highly Commended along with 81 Hollybrook Grove in Dublin in the Republic of Ireland by David Leech Architects. Other previous winners include[ Habitat for Orphan Girls] in Iran by ZAV Architects, an anti-seismic prototype by Edward Ng, Li Wan, Xinan Chi at Hong Kong University, Cosmic in Osaka by UID Architects, and Fayland House by David Chipperfield Architects.

10 years of AR House
See a collection of global projects previously published in the AR
2019 entries
For a chance to have your work featured in the July/August issue of the AR
Become a Sponsor
Find out how the AR House awards can position your brand in front of design industry leaders


By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept