Launched in 2010, the AR House awards recognises originality and excellence in the design of dwellings. The house – a key rite of passage for architects – offers the potential for innovation and is critical to the ferment and crystallisation of new ideas. Looking for projects built in the last five years, AR House recognises creativity and originality, and ideas that push the type forward whatever the scale and construction cost. The judges’ chosen schemes will all be visited by an independent critic and photographer before a decision is made on the winner.

Past winners and finalists include Domat, David Chipperfield Architects, Matharoo Associates, AREA (Architecture Research Athens), Nomos, Brillhart Architecture, Manthey Kula, Kochi Architect’s Studio, dmvA Architects, Manuel Cervantes Estudio, Davidson Rafailidis, and many more.

See for yourself what makes an award-winning submission by downloading 2023's top six projects’ entry boards here.

Entry deadline: 19 July 2024

Entry deadline

What can be entered?

Find out more about the entry criteria and what can be entered beyond new and permanent residences for a single family. 

Previous winners

Previous winners and finalists have included both emerging and established practices from around the world.

Become a sponsor

Find out how the AR House awards can position your brand in front of architects and design industry leaders. 

Download last year’s winning submission

See for yourself what helps makes up an award-winning submission by downloading last year’s winner, highly commended and commended projects’ entry boards.